Second Trimester Bump Style

As I write this I am currently 18 weeks pregnant and I can’t believe we are almost half-way there! While the first trimester seemed to last forever (thanks, morning sickness…), the second trimester is flying by. If it weren’t for the soft flutters that I feel against my womb in the early morning and late evening, I would probably forget most days that I am pregnant, which is actually such a relief and stark contrast to how I was feeling a few weeks ago.

Although those who know me are amazed with how much sooner I am “showing” this time, the bump is still yet to “pop” by most people’s standards. Typically, everyone I meet likes to announce with great exclamation that I “hardly look pregnant” or finds it somehow socially acceptable to compare how their perceive my weight to be now in comparison how I was before I was pregnant.

Really? 

As someone who carries her babies more internally than most, I am consistently baffled that many people forget basic manners when they are around pregnant women. This was also my experience last time when I was pregnant with Chayton and so far, it seems things haven’t changed in two years.

With that being said, I’m still embracing this second trimester even though I’m currently in that awkward stage of not comfortably fitting my normal clothes but also still being too petite for anything found in the maternity section. I’m dealing with this by gravitating to comfortable, light, flowing dresses and tops that give my little bump room to grow. Unfortunately this also means that any tiny bump evidence is usually hidden, adding to the “you don’t even look pregnant” comments. But I’m comfortable and that’s all that really matters to me.

If you’re finding yourself in a similar stage of pregnancy, or if you’re following along on my second pregnancy journey and want to check out the bump progress, I’ve gathered two of my go-to pregnancy looks that I’m finding both comfortable and fashionable as the weeks go on.

14 weeks

Wearing: A jersey t-shirt dress from H&M Conscious

Jewelry: Custom crown necklace by Mint & Birch layered with the Golda Mala by Mama.Gems 

IMG_2222

IMG_2223

IMG_2233

16 weeks

Wearing: A long, peasant style maxi from H&M

Jewelry: Custom crown necklace from Mint & Birch with handmade feather earrings from Singapore

IMG_0631

IMG_0643

IMG_0654

No matter what stage of life you find yourself in, I feel it is incredibly important to dress in what makes you feel comfortable and confident. My personal style has certainly changed over the last few years and I am excited to embrace pregnancy once more and style the bump again as my body transforms before my very eyes.

xo,

Tara

All Photos by Olivia Ann Photography.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. People say the strangest things to pregnant woman, I will never understand it. On another note, love the style pics and that last photo is specific is breathtaking!

    1. Tara Teng says:

      Yep, I’ll never understand it either! And thanks, Olivia is so talented!

Leave a comment