Candles Creating Opportunity

Prosperity Candle

It’s a daily scene in our home. The lights are dim, cooling fan softly blowing near the window in his room, as my little boy snuggles deeper into the cove of my neck and we rock together to the gentle way of our joint heartbeats. He’s growing so quickly these days and soon there will be a younger sibling looking up to him, but for now, he’s just my baby – breathing in unison, drifting off to the sound of my voice.

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.” 

A simple nursery song with so much power, intention and affirmation.

As I think of the state of affairs our world is in, I am always moved to do whatever I can, however large or small, to impact our globe for the better. The main reason why I started this blog was to give voice to important causes in the world, shine light on incredible organization and individuals doing great work, and showcase simple, effective ways that we can be involved in positive social change.

Prosperity Candle is one of those companies changing lives and making it look easy.

12079073_10153254466442998_2210712720362970838_n

Prosperity Candle was started by a small group of women who believed in equal opportunity for all and a brighter future for women everywhere. They are a social enterprise focused on sustainability and supporting women’s entrepreneurship, achieving very effective long-term results.

Every candle provides a living wage for women refugees who have fled conflict and violent situations to resettle in the United States. Each candle is ethically made and lovingly hand-poured by these women who have been hired on as apprentices to their craft, enabling them to restore dignity and confidence while also financially supporting their families and themselves in their new homes.

11885159_10153185471197998_6736057197342349527_n

If the story of Prosperity Candle isn’t already great enough, they also offer beautiful collections with eco-friendly candles made sustainably and poured in beautiful pieces found in souks and markets around the world. Virtually every candle offers a “Design Your Own” feature where you can choose your vessel, fragrance and strength of fragrance so you get exactly what you want! Many candle jars and votives are limited edition and there is even a forever refill option, allowing you can purchase a forever candle to receive refills completely free as long as you want!*

My Prosperity Candle

04.08.2016-82
My Prosperity Candle. Photo by M&Him.

I choose a limited edition copper bowl featuring hand-hammered details with a subtle and refreshing seagrass scent. I think about Htoo every time I light my candle. Htoo is the woman who made my candle who was forced out of her home in Myanmar. She grew up in a refugee camp in Thailand and now lives in the United States, in completing her education and dreams of one day becoming a chef.

It’s amazing that something so simple can make such a profound impact on someone else’s life.

Next time you purchase a candle or are looking for a gift for someone else, I encourage you to consider Prosperity Candle. We can all bring a little light to the world each day through our daily actions and a small flame can quickly become a brilliant blaze to chase away the darkness of our world, if we let it.

04.08.2016-83
My Prosperity Candle. Photo by M&Him.

*$8.00 USD required to cover shipping for your Forever Candle.

The epic Summer Sale is happening right now for Prosperity Candle, save 40%-70% now until mid-September 2016.

Leave a comment